Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the law
Love is the law, love under will

Recommended books # 1 – Introductory (part I)

Because it is very important that those who have contact with the Order must have a chosen education in magick, as well as a clear vision to eliminate errors and confusion, and to support mental hygiene as conducive to this environment, we come to aid those interested to study with a list of titles focused on the topic.

Allow Me to Introduce

Lon Milo DuQuette

A guided tour to the occult and esoteric worlds from a beloved author and scholar.

For over 30 years Lon Milo DuQuette has written incisively about the tarot, magick, Qabalah, and divination and provided introductory material for the most renowned authors on these topics, such as Aleister Crowley, Israel Regardie, John Dee, Frater Achad, Rodney Orpheus, H. P. Lovecraft, Phyllis Seckler, John Michael Greer, Susan Montag, Donald Michael Kraig, and many others.

Considered as a whole this collection of writings provides an invaluable introduction to many aspects and personalities of the occult and esoteric worlds by one of the foremost authorities on such arcane subjects.


Thelema: An Introduction to the Life, Work, and Philosophy of Aleister Crowley

Colin D. Campbell

To truly understand the philosophy and practice of Thelema, you need to understand its charismatic and influential founder, Aleister Crowley. Thelema demystifies this enigmatic figure, providing a biography of Crowley and showing how his work evolved to become a paradigm-shifting system of magick. This book also explores the texts and writings that form the basis of Thelema, and it provides step-by-step instructions for practicing the basic rites and rituals of this misunderstood tradition. With this accessible guide, you will discover how Crowley and Thelema were influenced by Qabalah, the GoldenDawn, Egyptian deities, sex magick, tarot, Gnosticism, Eastern philosophy, yoga, and much more.


Weiser Concise Guide to Aleister Crowley

Richard Kaczynski, James Wasserman

In addition to the fascinating biographical sketch drawn by Richard Kaczynski, author of the classic biography Perdurabo, this book offers Crowley’s teachings in his own words. A carefully chosen series of his instructions for concentration, meditation, magick, invocation, even sex magick are included. Crowley’s descriptions of the teaching Orders A:.A:. and O.T.O. are presented, along with the Creed of EGC. In addition, a suggested reading list of Crowley’s top-eleven most important books is enhanced by an extensive bibliography for further in-depth research. This is the first and only introductory book that does not pretend to improve upon the Master’s writings, but attempts to showcase them into a coherent introduction to his spiritual system.


The Magick of Aleister Crowley

Lon Milo DuQuette

Aleister Crowley’s ascension into the pantheon of alternative gurus was cemented by his appearance on The Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band album cover. Unfortunately, he was known more for his reputation as The Beast 666 and The Wickedest Man in the World. All well and good for publicity, but this infamy eclipsed his teachings, as did his technical and opaque writing style, meant more for adepts contemporary to him than the average modern reader. Enter Lon Milo DuQuette to decipher and explain Crowley’s texts and more important rituals. Formerly titled The Magick of Thelema, this revised edition features extensive corrections, a new introduction, and a new ritual, The Rites of Eleusis. This is the perfect introductory text for readers who wonder what the works–rather than the myth–of Aleister Crowley are all about. DuQuette takes the mystery out of both the rituals themselves and Crowley’s writing in this modern grimoire. Step by step, he presents a course of study in plain English, with examples of rituals and explanations of their significance. DuQuette also includes a course of study for Crowley’s original works with an extensive bibliography and fastidious footnotes.


Abrahadabra

Rodney Orpheus

Magick is a subtle and curious thing and often works in ways you do not expect and at times you do not expect but it always works. Every magical act brings a result, as you are about to learn. Rodney Orpheus, from the Introduction Abrahadabra is about the practice of the magick of Thelema a system of physical, mental, and spiritual training and discipline based on two fundamental principles: Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law and Love is the law, love under will. Lon Milo DuQuette.


The Law of Thelema

Antti P. Balk

Though many books have ostensibly been written on Crowley’s philosophy, this might well be the first one truly accessible to an intelligent reader with no prior or current interest in the occult–yet THE LAW OF THELEMA nowise pretends that one’s True Will can be ascertained without the patient utilization of esoteric techniques.

In the tradition of Franz Hartmann’s Life and Doctrines of Jacob Boehme (1891), the author organizes quotations from diverse works by Crowley into a set of themes, but mostly lets the Beast speak for himself. However, the author helps the reader parse through Crowley’s unique combination of Western iconography and Eastern concepts, while showing how Thelema is similar to and different from other systematic methods of attainment.

Rather than turning himself and his readers into “centres of pestilence” by discussing the contents of Liber Legis, the author merely arranges the Prophet’s own scattered comments into a coherent, carefully referenced whole. This book should thus also prove indispensable to anyone who genuinely wants to work Crowley’s actual system, but may not have the time or resources to connect every last dot.


Living Thelema

David Shoemaker

The system of spiritual attainment developed by Aleister Crowley is notoriously challenging in its scope. Adapted from the popular podcast segment of the same name, Living Thelema brings a welcome approachability to Crowley’s material, without diminishing the depth of the system. The author focuses on the practical and experiential aspects of the path of Thelema, allowing the reader to grasp the true transformative power of the system.

Beginners and advanced practitioners alike will find much useful advice here, as Shoemaker brings his characteristic down-to-earth style to bear on topics such as ritual and meditation practices, sex magick, astral projection, psychotherapy for magicians, the Knowledge and Conversation of the Holy Guardian Angel, and that pinnacle of attainment known as the crossing of the Abyss.